Wool Dyeing Party

22 05 2008

I spent a lovely Sunday with a lovely group of women playing with wool. We learned how to card with this hand cranked gizmo:

I’ve only ever used carding paddles so this was heavenly. Next we dyed the wool:

My mom even tried her hand at spinning:

For a more detailed description of our fine day see Jen’s post or Kristin’s. A big thank you to Jen for organizing the event and to Birdie for being a fabulous host. I hope to come out and play again soon!

Why, you might ask, is Anna posting several days after events are occurring? Well, that would be because I accidentally threw my camera down the front cement stoop. I froze and watched in horror as it bounced down all 4 steps. Therefore, I’ve had to beg, borrow and steal other’s cameras and photos. A big thank you to Ellie and Kathryn for their donations! Sadly, it’ll cost almost as much to fix my camera as buy a new one. Although I’m normally all for fixing to avoid more junk in the landfills the camera is a different story. So, any camera suggestions out there? I’ve been very happy with my Canon PowerShot but am being tempted by Olympis’ Shockproof camera. Shockproof being the optimal word here. And Budget is a concern here. No SLRs for me. A good family point and shoot is what I’m looking for. Any words of wisdom?

Lastly, on a totally unrelated note – Eleanor took her first steps!!!!! I’d love to show you but apparently flickr doesn’t accept mpg videos yet. I’ll look around at converting or using another service.

Ta ta for now!

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 05 2008
applecyder

Poor camera. I don’t have any good suggestions. I don’t love my point and shoot (samsung digimax a7). GO ELEANOR!

23 05 2008
smoothpebble

Oh sorry about your camera. I’d be lost without mine. It’s a Panasonic Lumix but is a bit bigger and bulkier than a point and shoot. I’ve loved seeing all of you gal’s pictures from the wool dying party. What fun!
And a wee one taking her first steps -exciting!

23 05 2008
painted fish studio

wool dyeing was pretty cool! i’m so glad ellie and your mom joined us.

i have a canon powershot, too, so i can’t really recommend much else. but i can recommend checking out overstock.com, they have pretty good deals!

24 05 2008
Kristen

So sorry about your camera! I can’t wait to do some dying soon. That carding gizmo is coool!

25 05 2008
Martha

I have been looking around for a new camera since the macro challenge and as a fellow macro challenger, I will pass along that the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ4 might be a good pick. I am pretty much ready to buy it, but haven’t made the plunge. Costco is having a coupon for it starting June 2 for $199 if you belong to Costco. It does not, however, have any anti-drop features! Well actually, it does have a little more of a grip for your hand than others! Check it out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

