1st Hat – Again

4 03 2009

I did it. After my first annoying attempt, I completed my first hand knit hat. I even messed with the pattern. Yeah!

Yarn – Rowan Big Wool, 100% Merino Wool

Pattern – Chunky Knit Beanie by Leslie over at a friend to knit with (Thanks Leslie!!)

What I did:

  • Knit on dpn instead of straight needles
  • Due to knitting in the round I dropped 4 stitches off the cast on (thanks to the advice of Martha)
  • The first version didn’t cover my ears as much as I wanted it to, so I lengthen the portion where you decrease stitches. Instead of knitting 2 together for the last two rows, I started to knit 2 together, knit 2 stitches and repeated until I got down to less than 10 stitches. Now it covers my ears and there aren’t any gaps from reducing so quickly!

This is a really quick and easy hat. Perfect for a 1st hat. Supposedly you can knit it in a night, which for a mom of little ones actually  means 3 nights. At least for me anyways. What’s even more fun? Doing it with a group. Each person with their own choice of yarn and ideas on how to alter the pattern. Here’s Martha’s and Jen’s. Still waiting to see pics of Sarah’s and Dana’s.

Actions

Information

6 responses

4 03 2009
painted fish studio

sweet! you’re looking so stylish in your new hat! can’t wait to hear what’s next on your knitting list…

5 03 2009
Dana

Dana hasn’t even gotten her yarn yet. Got to finish this freakin’ sweater first. Seeing all the super cute, comfy looking hats does make me want to knit one up quick. It may be March, but we live in Minnesota, right?

5 03 2009
christina

Great hat! I like big squishy soft knits. There’s something so nice about garter stitch in bulky yarn.

8 03 2009
kristin

second time is a charm…you look adorable. x

24 03 2009
The Lil Bee

I would love to learn how to knit! That sounds like a lot of fun and it came out really cute:)

25 11 2012
Lisa Sarfaty

Hi – my nephew found this hat online and wants me to make him one, but the original blogger, Leslie Friend, no longer has a link to the instructions. Do you have the pattern and can you share it? Thank you very much, Lisa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

