Birthday Love

7 10 2009

Look what my mommy made me for my birthday! Knitted and fulled mittens with needle felted flowers embellished with a little embroidery and beading. Not only that, but she even used roving from last years wool dyeing pARTy. They’re very toasty with enough wiggle room to wear some glove liners inside. I even wore them this morning. Granted it was only in the car, but that steering wheel can get mighty cold.

And I now have to admit I think I have a problem. Japanese craft book addiction. It’s sad but true. I’ve been admiring them from afar. I adore the book club posts at icewerks and have been ogling others online. I had been really good at resisting until Jen got me this crochet book for my birthday.

Uh, oh. I’m not sure I can hold out much longer. I mean look at these cute slippers.

What’s worse, is that I only crochet a couple times a year and would by no means claim to be good at it. And if I’m that enamored of a japanese crochet book, how can I resist others? Logically I know it’s the beautiful photography and the clean layout, but logic won’t stop me from hitting the purchase button.

Actions

Information

7 responses

7 10 2009
LiEr

Happy birthday, Anna! What fabulous mittens- what gorgeous, happy colors! I, too, love Japanese craft books, especially those that are extinct. How foolish is that? Every craft that I don’t do is one craft I am thankful for, because it means one less craft to buy books, and get materials and tools for! Hurrah for knitting, crochet, felting……..

7 10 2009
christina

Hey, Happy -by now belated- Birthday! Those pretty mitts look MN hardy.
Awfully nice book too. (addiction? what addiction?? I’ll send you some links :)

7 10 2009
painted fish studio

!!!

love the mittens, and love that they are adorned with wool from birdie’s!

i am so sorry: japanese craft books? worse than nicotine, in terms of addiction. i am ashamed at my lack of self control, so maybe you and i should not get together for wine and book browsing. you will get hooked. how ’bout i not tell you where you can find them on the interwebs?

8 10 2009
K

I foresee many cool projects coming from the house of Anna….love those slippers! And love love love your gloves. happy birthday libra girl!

8 10 2009
Ayama

Happy belated birthday!!!! Ohhhh those mittens look so warm. After Sapporo last year, I can appreciate this particular item of clothing. What an amazing book. Drooling online but not tempted to buy, wait until I do the grand unveil of my creative space…. Scary how much stuff there is and I didn’t get it all out of storage, goodness help me…. Happy birthday and can’t wait to see some hooky type projects.

9 10 2009
smoothpebble

Awesome mittens!! And don’t EVEN get me started on those Japanese craft books. When it comes to those there is no such thing as logic – I have yet to buy one because I know the minute that I do it will be all over – I’ll be building a special bookcase for all that I buy!

9 10 2009
smoothpebble

Shoot! I forgot the most important thing – HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Hope you got lots of slobbery hugs and kisses from your people, and the royal treatment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

