Vest to Hat

18 10 2009

Finished this vest up last month but couldn’t get a model at 1st during the warm temps. Now it’s the perfect weather for it.

I did make a fortuitous mistake in the beginning when I did one repeat too many of one of the center cables.  I had been fretting over the fact that most children’s sweaters seem to be too wide and too short and was worried that this pattern was no different. I kept thinking I should have altered the pattern and was seriously contemplating ripping the whole thing apart and starting over. Then I realized my mistake and the fact that my mistake actually compensated for the too wide/too short issue. Perfect! I continued the mistake through the rest of the pattern.

Details:

  •  Pattern – Pembroke from Petite Purls (a cute little online knitting mag)
  • Yarn – Ella Rae Classic Superwash
  • Ravelry details here

Skills learned:

  • Cabling without a cable needle (thank you Jess & Sarah!)
  • V neck ribbing
  • Reading charts! (really, this was my 1st time)

What I would change:

  • Keep my extra middle cable repeat mistake
  •  Knit in the round vs. panels

About a week ago I was under the weather and found a a little more than a day to myself with only enough energy for couch activities. I bumped something and a ball of yarn rolled out from under the end table. It turned out to be the left over yarn from this vest. I had recently seen this post on Chickpea Sewing Studio and happened to know a little girls who’s birthday was that week and who happened to be a Harry Potter fan. It was meant to be, right? Apparently, because it whipped up in no time flat and was a complete success. I even included a picture of Hermione wearing the hat in the gift bag to ensure comprehension. The fact that it cost me absolutely no money was a complete bonus.

Pattern – Hermione’s Cable & Eyelet Hat by JL Yarnworks

Modifications – 12 rows of 1×1 twisted ribbing to start with as suggested by Chickpea and Sketchbook.

Skills learned:

  • 1×1 twisted ribbing – nice pronounced ribbing that I swear knits more quickly than normal ribbing
  • Cable cast on – awkward and slow, but stretchy and totally worth it 

Seth very reluctantly modeled the hat for me. It was a teeny bit small on his giant head but fits the recipient perfectly. Afterwards, he took it off and sat staring at it for a bit. 

Seth “This is the same yarn as the vest you made me!”

Me “You’re right!” (feeling very impressed and flattered)

Seth <sniffle> “It matches my vest.”

Me “Yes”  (a little more tentatively this time)

Seth <more sniffles> “I want you to make ME a hat that matches my sweater!!!” <tears>

He’s never asked me to knit him something before. You don’t think I could say no to that do you? Today I showed him several other potential hat options. He emphatically declared that he wanted that hat – same color, same yarn, same pattern. Looks like I’m headed to the yarn store tomorrow. And guess that 1st hat really did cost me a ball of yarn.

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 10 2009
Jess

What a great hat!
And the vest looks perfect on Seth!

19 10 2009
Ayama

simply gorgeous hat and vest. bless, kids are funny. love how seth has finally asked for a handmade item from mummy. he definately has good taste in both hats and vests (and so does his mummy). three cheers to mummy!! :D

20 10 2009
jen

wow wow wow. i am jealous that you’ve finished 2 fabulous projects! i feel like i’m treading water and getting no where. hopefully i’ll have some free time soon to knit!

21 10 2009
smoothpebble

I know, I agree with Jen. your knitting is gorgeous – love those cables and what a happy mistake.

22 10 2009
christina

Nice vest and he looks awfully happy and proud of it too. So sweet that he’s feeling proprietory about “his” yarn now.
I’ve been eyeing the Hermione Hat — now that I’ve seen the top, I love it even more.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

