Fingerless Mitts

16 01 2010

I got on a big fingerless mitts knitting kick in December. I knitted up a pair so quickly in November that I decided I could make a pair for each person coming to visit me for Christmas. I’d love to show you that 1st pair, but not only is it difficult to photograph but it hasn’t been given to it’s intended yet. Maybe sometime soon. If you’re a knitter, you really should make a pair or two or three as the case may be. Easier than a pair of socks, more challenging than your average scarf or wash cloth. They’re also a fabulous fashion accessory or comfort item.

First up, a pair for my younger sister. Owlings by Kerrie James. Knit from some squishy Kathmandu Aran tweed. I added little black beaded eyes on one owl for each mitt. I also altered the pattern by adding 3 rows of seed stitch to all edges to prevent the rolling that might naturally occur if left as is. I know the color is a bit funky here. It’s because I always forget about white balance when taking pictures in the snow. The true color is more like the dark purple on the right. (Ravelry here)

Next up, a pair for my father. I really liked the way the Jacoby pattern looks in the intended yarn. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find that particular yarn and it was only 2 weeks before christmas. Since I had my heart set on this pattern, I found a replacement yarn. And though I’m fairly happy with the results, I wasn’t as thrilled with how easy the yarn was to knit with. I do have plenty of yarn left over. Enough for 1 or 2 more pairs in fact. And guess what? Seth has requested a pair to match his grandpa’s. So it looks like I’ll be downsizing this pattern in the near future. (Ravelry here)

Finally, a pair for my mother. As I had already gone over budget with her gifts I decided to look through my stash. I pulled out 2 skeins of a nice dark, dark green Mission Falls merino. I’m fairly certain I got these from Martha when she was unloading some of her stash. (Thanks Martha!!) The pattern, Warm Cafe Latte Wristies, knits up quick. So quick that I finished in just a few days. However, I wouldn’t recommend knitting them that quickly as I ended up having to take ibuprofen to ease the pain in my forearm. Unfortunately, the pattern is only available if you have access to Ravelry. I like the pattern. My only complaint would be the thumb gussets. It’s too roomy in the palm and curls in at the top edge due to the stockinette stitch. If I did it again, I’d slow down the increases and finish off the thumb edge in one of the pattern repeats. Oh, and this is definitely intended for someone with long fingers. Had I done the number of rows it suggests for the thumb you wouldn’t be able to see any of my mother’s thumb at all. (Ravelry here)

Can’t you just see snuggling on the couch with a pair on, reading a book? Or going for a walk with them on a crisp fall or spring day?

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 01 2010
painted fish studio

seeing that i’m almost done knitting the neck gator from your last post, the natural progression would be to move onto fingerless gloves. am i ready to take that step? maybe i should finish the other half-started projects first! but i will get to these for next winter.

20 01 2010
Martha

Wow! Those are so wonderful and how cool that you have everyone in your family covered!!!

22 01 2010
Sarah Salo

Wonderful! My friend sent me a pair this fall – they go up to my elbows. Absolutely perfect for the perpetually chilly! I (heart) the owls…

23 01 2010
Grandma

I can attest to the fact that they’re cozy. I’ve used Grandpa’s and mine on several occasions when it was just too chilly in the house to be comfy. I’ve read an Anne Perry Christmas novel with them and even knitted some socks.

Thanks a bunch!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

