Fish stick hot dish!

21 02 2008

Here you go – the fish stick hot dish recipe as requested:

Mix together:

  • 1 small container of sour cream (your call on fat content)
  • Mashed potatoes made from flakes with a little less liquid than the box states (I’m guessing here – but make about 4 servings)
  • 1 box of frozen spinach, thawed

Spread mixture across bottom of a lasagna pan. Top with fish sticks in a single layer and bake according to fish stick package directions.

Note: The reason you use less liquid in the potatoes is that you get some from the thawed spinach. It would get too runny if you used the regular amount of water.

Suggestion: Why not gourmatize it? (Yes, I realize that’s not a word but you get my drift) Make the mashed potatoes from scratch and top with lightly breaded cod or other white fish. Let me know if you do this, I would be interested in the result.

This recipe has kind of traveled around the family so I’m not sure whom to give credit. Could be a magazine, family member or cookbook. If anyone knows please leave a comment.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 02 2008
painted fish studio

um, wow. my mom made some crazy hotdishes in her time, but this one tops the cake! it sounds kinda gross – sorry! – but i am intrigued…

22 02 2008
Jenn

I do like the idea of trying it with real mashed potatoes and a fresh fish. Maybe with some wasabi or red curry sauce. Maybe I’ll play with it :)

22 02 2008
painted fish studio

i suppose is should admit that i make my scrambled eggs with cottage cheese, which to some would sound icky! so we all have our crazy dishes…

5 03 2008
anna

I don’t think that you have to tell people tht you’re in MN (in your about) just keep this recipe there! LOL. Not trying it, just for the record. The stir fry, however, may become a staple in our house too.

I was at a stitching show in the early 90s when I found a little book designed for recording your stitching. Once I ran out of room in that book, things weren’t so well-documented. There’s this really hazy period between 1997 and 2003 when I started the blog. Maybe I can gather up the scraps of paper and get those years taken care of… Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

