Finger Painting

6 03 2008

Seth tried finger painting for the first time this evening. I wouldn’t call it a raving success but he did enjoy it. Here’s what I learned:

  1. Purchased paints from a kit are probably not worth it. Seth is 3/4 of the way through the jar of green already.
  2. Next time I’ll try a homemade version like Keda suggested. I’ll need to hunt down some good recipes.
  3. That slick paper made especially for finger painting IS nice, but the ones that came with the kit are way too small.
  4. Don’t use construction paper, it gets soggy.
  5. Go straight to the sink with him once he stands up. No last minute “here try this paper”. (Both of our pants are now soaking in soapy water)
  6. It was nice to have a wet rag on hand.
  7. Have more newspaper at the ready to put down after completing a few pieces.
  8. It would be way more fun and free to do this outside. Assuming the weather is better than the single digits we’re seeing right now.
  9. I need a better place for the masterpieces to dry than on the floor next to my bed.
  10. We’ll definitely be doing this again soon.
Actions

Information

4 responses

6 03 2008
painted fish studio

that looks so fun! i can almost feel the paint between my fingers. and for some odd reason, i am now craving chocolate pudding…

7 03 2008
jenn

This is a great idea for pARTy. really, it could be really really fun! Really!

7 03 2008
painted fish studio

yes! i agree! outside, warm air, sunshine, white wine in paper cups! let’s do it!

7 03 2008
threesneakybugs

I’m all for it. I had to really hold myself back and not dive in myself. I wanted to let him explore his way but boy did it look tempting.

Leave a Reply

