Hornets!!!!

10 03 2008

Hornets Nest

After reading my March Gardening Task List my lovely sis reminded me that I really needed to take care of the bee and hornet nests around my yard before it warms up. Specifically the one pictured above in the beautiful little clay bird house my parents gave me. Since it’s still below freezing around here and we got more snow over the weekend this seemed the logical garden chore to work on. While I didn’t get to all of the nests tucked into the eves of my house I did get to this one. A nest that tormented us all of last summer. It’s possibly my fault due to the sunny location I hung it in. Once we realized the nest was there, it was too late. I didn’t want to spray it with poison for fear of possible effects on future families of birds that may inhabit the cozy little den. And I sure as heck wasn’t going to volunteer to move the thing. So it sat there sending out little workers to torment my dog, who would try to eat them, and make me worry about my son getting stung. I’m happy to say it really wasn’t that hard to remove and now my son has a great show and tell piece to take to preschool.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 03 2008
painted fish studio

i love the bird house – i hope a family moves in (but a family intended for the home, not wasps!). i guess i’m lucky – i don’t have a hornet problem!

11 03 2008
Sarah

I love the bird house too! And the hornet’s nest is a great find for a nature corner at home or at school!

Leave a Reply

