Home with the Kids

27 03 2008

Day care was closed today so I stayed home with the kids. It’s always good to have a day off work, but I tell ya I certainly still worked. I just don’t know how stay at home moms and day care providers do it. A big salute to those of you that do just that. You’re amazing! For me, let’s just say it’s a really good thing that I’m a “working mom” as I know I would be a poor “stay at home mom”. Seth played on the internet WAY too much while I tried to get our neglected house under some sort of control and do a little baby proofing. I served microwaved veggie corndogs for lunch with absolutely no sides. Eleanor must have eaten a pound of lint off the floor until she discovered her brother’s bowl of goldfish crackers. The house? Can’t tell I did a thing. For that matter I had to vacuum after dinner to pick up the crushed cheerios from the floor and the goldfish cracker dust from the couch. I think it’s best for me to go to an office for a bit and be able to come back re-energized and wanting to spend time with the kids. It helps me focus on them more when I am at home. Don’t get me wrong though, we still got in some quality time doing art, going for walks and watching Maurice Sendak videos (thanks Sarah!).


Click on each photo to find out more .

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 03 2008
painted fish studio

i was at home yesterday, too, and i can say it’s probably a good thing i have a job. i could never be an artist all day. i’m just not that motivated! having a routine, somewhere to go outside of my home where my art supplies are is important in my creative process…

28 03 2008
Andrea

I’m with you on this one. I love that when I pick Tree Faerie up from daycare, I’m just as excited to see her as she is to see me. By Monday morning, I’m ready to go back to work just to have a bit of a break. :)

If you don’t mind me askin’ – why was the daycare closed on a Thursday?

28 03 2008
threesneakybugs

Normally our day care is closed on Good Friday but she choose to switch it with Thursday for family reasons. As I had to take the day off work either way it didn’t matter to me. (I don’t know any other business that has Good Friday as a holiday, but all 3 daycares I’ve used do just that.)

28 03 2008
Anna Yamaura

Thanks for the great project ideas Anna (isn’t it the mostest fantastic name in the world BTW??). Hmm may be I am a poor stay at home mum. We do a lot of ‘going out’. We live in an apartment and when cabin fever strikes (like everyday), we go do the grocery shopping (foot falcon only and we live in Singapore), float in the complex pools, play on the complex fort, go to the library, get told off by the local cops for playing on the grass (again)… Lots of stuff. The wee pixie is just a too wee at the moment for much art. Paint = licking not smooshing with fingers….

7 04 2008
Tina B

I work from home and it’s not easy. My kids are older and thankfully in school. I have learned if I want to enjoy a clean house-I have to clean right after they all leave in the morning. Then I can enjoy it for at least 7 hours before they come home :) A clean house is not a signof a good mom so don’t worry about it too much. You’re a great mom!!! Working or stay at home-it only matters what you make of all the time you have with them. You do so much more with your kids than I feel like I did with mine. Keep up the good work!!!!!

Leave a Reply

