A Stones Throw

20 04 2008

Thank you, everyone, for your kind thoughts. I can’t begin to say how much I have appreciated it.

OK, time to start getting back to the real world. It’s going to take us a while to get back on track but I’ve got to start somewhere. Seth’s had a lot of time in front of the TV this week. Hubby has been out of town the last couple days and I’ve been trying to keep my little family from interfering with the full families mourning and of course, dealing with my own. I haven’t been completely successful with this venture, but I’ve been trying. We’ll be driving back home this week and I needed to get us on the path to recovery. Today we made a stab at some normalcy for an hour or so. I really enjoyed the escape. A couple of art projects (which I’ll post later) and some pebble tossing filled our time while Eleanor slept an unbelievable 3 hours.

As it turns out simply throwing stones is an excellent way to learn about all sorts of things:

  • Is the stone big or little?
  • Does it make a big or little ripple?
  • Why does it make a ripple?
  • Does it make a big kerplunk or a little one?
  • Why? to all of the above

Give it a try sometime. You’ll be amazed. It was very cathartic.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 04 2008
Jenn

Whenever we’re near a body of water, marc throws stones. he’s such a boy. Glad you’re back, you’ve been missed. And why do they make a ripple (physics quiz)?

21 04 2008
martha

Stone throwing is always a favorite pastime here as well -it is cathartic. I’m glad you were able to spend so much time w/ your family.
Hope you have a good drive back.
xo

21 04 2008
painted fish studio

have a safe drive home. take your time, enjoy the kerplunks.

22 04 2008
kristin

what a wonderful way to bring yourself back to the real world… connecting with the earth in such a peaceful and thoughtful manner.

Leave a Reply

