I-Cords

22 04 2008

I’ve been having fun with i-cords lately. I-cords are basically knitted tubes and have many uses such as handles on bags or ties on headbands. I found a felted project with i-cords that I wanted to try and started working on it last week. I thought a felted project might be an excellent first i-cord as it will hide mistakes and loose stitches. Therefore giving me practice without wasting yarn. I didn’t really think about the fact that I would need to knit twice as much as normal to give room for the shrinkage that comes along with fulling the yarn into felt. Oh well, more practice, right?

Further more, the instructions in the book (which will remain nameless) neglected to mention that I should use double pointed needles. It also forgot to tell me what size needles to use, but that’s beside the “point”. So there I am, trying to figure out how to make an i-cord with regular needles. If you’ve ever made an i-cord before your probably already laughing. For the rest of you, the reason it’s so funny is that after knitting a row you are to slide it to the other side and knit off that end. Well, if you have a knob on that end it’s pretty darn hard to knit off of it. Luckily I remembered the good old internet and found a lovely tutorial to help me out.

In the end I’m going along strongly with my i-cords. I still think felting them will be great. I also now think that i-cords would be a wonderful introduction to double pointed needles. Usually double pointed needles are used in sets of 4 or 5 and enable one to knit in the round. In the case of i-cords it’s still only 2 needles but it’s a baby step toward using the whole kit ‘n caboodle . I wish I had tried i-cords prior to jumping in with both feet to the awkward knitting in the round that a whole set of double pointed needles provides. Instead I made this plush for Eleanor (it’s also very lightly felted). I love it and enjoyed the challenge but would have appreciated breaking my teeth on something a little easier.

Assuming I pull this first i-cord project off I may try a Knitting Nancy next time to see how it compares. I found the idea through a thread of posts starting with the Crafty Crow’s mention of Zen Crafting’s Knitting Ned kid version. Has anyone out there used a Knitting Nancy and have any comments on them? Also, what do you do with i-cords? Better yet, what can you imagine doing with i-cords?

Note to Functional Felt Swapers – You should be receiving your swap partner within 24 hours. Please email Jen and I at functionalfeltswap {at} gmail {dot} com if you don’t get an email by end of day Wednesday.

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 04 2008
painted fish studio

so i’m freaking out about the felt swap. i have no idea what i’m doing! so i spent some time at work doing some research, and came across a wonderful felter blog in norway, written by hilde. she has a fun tutorial on hand knitting, and then she felts the “snakes” and makes “butt cushions”. similar to an i-cord? anyway, i love it: http://knittingplace.blogspot.com/2006/04/sitteunderlag-butt-cushion.html

23 04 2008
threesneakybugs

Yep, those are big i-cords. And if Kristen can make them out of pantyhose with her daughter you can do it out of yarn:
http://pepperpaints.com/2008/04/17/homemade-jump-rope/

And no freaking out! I know you’ll come up with something neat.

26 06 2008
crazyhaberdasher

Interesting post! You might like to take a look at http://spoolknitter.blogspot.com (which is about anything to do with spool knitters) and my spoolknitter group on Flickr.
You will be able to get some more ideas for what to do with your cords – apart from the obvious “toys” “finger puppets” and “tea cosies”, etc. – a member has decorated a canvas bag using cords, or you could make cushions, make hats, trim your knitted sweaters/jackets with the cords, etc, etc. Really the ideas are endless. You are most welcome to join the Flickr group.

Leave a Reply

