The Big Picture

30 04 2008

Orange Wednesday is upon us and I now realize I’ve been stuck in macro mode. After creating the above mosaic this morning I drove to work and saw color themes everywhere, particularly orange. Things that normally would have looked junky had appeal. The caution tape wrapped around a tree and blowing in the wind, the sidewalk barricade surrounded by cones, the repetition of street signs and banners. It was amazing and it made me see the world in a completely different way. I’ve really enjoyed the macro challenge and want to thank Orange Flower for organizing the event, but it’s time to move on. Maybe even take a few shots from a distance.

(This isn’t a good shot, but it was orange and made me think. If only I had extra time this morning to get out of the car and properly shoot this color coordinated semi.)

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 04 2008
Karin

Great orange photos! Thanks for participating in the macro challenge! I hear you, it’s definitely a good idea to switch out of macro after being so immersed for 30 days. As a result, I think I will have a new “eye” when I work on distance shots or landscapes and even portraits. It was a fun experience, and I really enjoyed seeing your photos!

1 05 2008
kristin

i think i will always be in macro mode from now on…it’s so fun to photograph things up close. as for that semi! have you EVER seen an Orange one before? i sure haven’t. what a great shot…good thing you had your camera with you…who would have believed it?

1 05 2008
smoothpebble

i love your color collages, and the orange truck picture is fantastic. I think it should be made into a card or something. I’m ready to switch for a while to the “big picture” myself.

3 05 2008
Kristen

Nice photos. I love orange!!! I also love shooting close-up. I am a detail girl!!

Leave a Reply

