Sewing

7 05 2008

I’ve been thinking a lot about sewing lately. It’s consuming my thoughts. I used to sew quite a bit about 15 years ago when I worked in a fabric store. Not sure what happened but the sewing machine got tucked away and forgotten. I’ve seen so many great posts on sewn items it’s got me thinking. Then my parents showed up with a long forgotten box of memories including this bag. I made it when I was in Jr High. It was in Home Ec and probably one of the first sewing projects I ever completed.

Remember that gift I mentioned from Kristin? It’s this great pin cushion. See the flowers on top? They’re actually the tops of pins. Very clever. I love it! The picture doesn’t do it justice.

So it seems the cosmos is trying to tell me something, don’t you think? I mean, how can I ignore these signs? So if that’s the case I better dust off the old sewing machine. I suppose it’ll need a tune up. But where in the world do I go to get that done?

Actions

Information

8 responses

8 05 2008
kristin

remember that the pincushion can double as a paper weight…you know, just in case things don’t work out with the sewing machine. i have no idea where you’d go for a tune up…Sebastian Joe’s? that’s probably where I’d end up. :) if you do figure it out, you’ll have to let me know…or maybe we could venture out together…my sewing machine has it’s fair share of dust on it.

8 05 2008
kathryn

What about Treadle Yard Goods or whatever it’s called up in St. Paul? I bet if you called them they could recommend a place for a tune up!

8 05 2008
painted fish studio

what a great gift! and it has dual purposes. ;)

8 05 2008
smoothpebble

Sweet pincushion. You know there are a lot of things you can do with just handstitching if the sewing machine is a no go.

8 05 2008
Jen b

can’t wait to see wht you come up with! love, love the pincushion!

10 05 2008
Granndma June

Usually a good fabric store has someone who comes in, picks up the machines, and cleans/tunes them up. So, agree with Kathryn, try the ‘Treadle Yard Goods’. By the way, when I first saw the photo of the cherry bag, I said, that looks familiar. Then I read some and said, can’t believe she kept it around all these years. Then I read some more and said, now I know what treasures we’ve been hoarding.
P.S. We’ll be bringing three more boxes of long-forgotten treasures up next week.
Love, Ma

12 05 2008
Lil' d

That bag looks much better than the bag I made at school. I remember spending most of my time trying to untangle threads…

Thank you for stopping by and being so nice!

12 05 2008
Claudia

Such a wonderful gift :)
Your bag is so nice…and it was your first project…WOW.
You better dust off that sewing machine. Take care xox

Leave a Reply

