Felted Bag

2 06 2008

Ta dah! Here it is. I finally finished my Functional Felt Swap item. It’s boxed up and ready to go. As you can see it’s a bag. I knitted it from a pattern in One Skein by Leigh Radford. Although most patterns in the book call for only one skein of yarn, this one called for one skein plus left over yarn in your stash. As my wool stash is practically non-existent I went out and bought some yummy Malabrigo worsted weight merino wool for it. Little did I realize I would need a total of three skeins. The pattern also calls for stripes for the top half but I decided on a more subtle mottled look. Besides, changing yarn every few rows tends to drive me wiggy. For the most part the pattern was easy to follow. The only exception was sewing the gussets. I really didn’t get the directions and needed to put a call in to my sis to figure it out. Thanks Ellie! The bag is a nice size for either a large purse or a small book bag. Would even make a lovely bag to tote around a knitting project. The top edge rolled during the felting process. I liked the effect so much I left it to dry that way and found that it gives a nice firm edge. I wish I had gotten a picture of the sides for you but I’m not willing to pull the tape off the box. They fold in so that the bag can expand by about 4 inches deep.

As I can never leave well enough alone and I had a bit of leftover yarn I decided to make a coordinating key chain. I really wanted to make a matching coin purse but I didn’t have THAT much left over. The key chain is a knitted i-cord and I attached the hardware prior to felting. On the inside of the bag I added a d-ring (pre-felting as well) for attaching the key chain. I like to add as much hardware prior to felting as possible because I believe it gives it more strength and a seamless appearance.

I love it so much I want to make a second one for myself. (Although Leigh’s Circle Tote is looking awfully tempting.) But first, I really must use up all this yarn I succumbed to at the last sale at my LYS. I tried to hide the 2nd bag from the husband but he got home too early.

I really hope my swap partner likes her new bag and isn’t too miffed at it being late. Sometimes life just gets in the way. We don’t always hit our deadlines and that’s ok. If you’re part of the swap and haven’t sent your item out yet just drop us a line to let us know how it’s going a functionalfeltswap {at} gmail {dot} com. Obviously, I will understand. Jen wrote a great post on things to keep in mind as we try to wrap up this swap, please take a moment to check it out if you haven’t already. And keep posting those pictures to the flickr group. We just love seeing everyone’s work.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 06 2008
painted fish studio

i was lucky enough to see the bag in person, and it’s amazing! i loved the texture of the felted yarn, and it’s a great size for toting things around!

3 06 2008
Kristen

GREAT bag!! It would take me two years to knit a bag big enough to felt down to something of proper human size vs. barbie size!

6 06 2008
Jen C.

Woo hoo! I just received this in the mail today (all warm from sitting in the sunny mailbox…) and I’m so excited! When I first saw this in progress I was smitten, hoping that it just might be for me… So you can imagine my giddiness upon opening the box. Thank you soooo much! I know this must have taken some time and I really admire your patience and workmanship. This will definitely get top billing in the bag department around here from now on! It’s just perfect. (Ok, I’ll stop now.) Thank you, Anna!

Leave a Reply

