Raspberry Leaf Tea

22 07 2008

Seth really enjoyed making raspberry leaf tea over an open fire last weekend. It was a bit of an eye opener for me as well. Not only did I find out my 3, almost 4 year old likes tea but I learned of a whole new crop I can harvest from the raspberry bush the kids gave me for Mother’s Day. Here’s how you can enjoy your own cup:

1. Take a couple handfuls of dried or fresh raspberry leaves and place in a large banged up pot of water.

2. Make sure you get all the leaves in there.

3. Hang over an open fire and then go do something else for a while. Maybe a little camp craft time?

4. Steep at least until the water starts to steam. Length of time depends on how close to the fire you hang the pot. I think we let ours sit for about 15 minutes. It doesn’t get bitter like green tea so you can’t over steep.

5. If your pot doesn’t have straining holes you may want to poor it though a sieve or strainer to prevent too many leaf bits in your cup.

6. Pick out the perfect camp tea cup and enjoy a light and refreshing drink of tea.

That’s it! Can you believe how easy it is? It was tasty too! Even better was the pride my son felt from being the one to make the tea. Pretty sure that’s why he thought it tasted “yummy”. Wonder if he’d feel the same way if I made it on our stove here at home? One thing is for sure though, I’ll be drying all those branches of raspberry bush I cut down this fall.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 07 2008
Anna Y

Sounds yummy and fun. Know that if I drop in on your doorstep, that there will be fab tea this winter. :D

23 07 2008
painted fish studio

wow, that’s so cool! for some reason my raspberry bushes started over this year, and i’m not getting many berries. but i have plenty of leaves for tea! i’ll give it a try this weekend.

25 07 2008
Kristen

love the cup photo!

Leave a Reply

