Shannon

6 08 2008

This oh, so glamorous picture is of me and my two younger sisters about 1980 or 81. I’m the one in the rainbow swimsuit – which I totally remember thinking was fabulous. The blond is my sister Ellie and Shannon is in the middle. Maybe it’s just because I want to see it or maybe it’s because this was taken about the same age but I swear Eleanor looks like Shannon here. Ever since Shannon past away in April I catch myself calling my daughter Shannon’s name. It’s usually when I’m tired or snuggling with her and it always brings a tear to my eye. She will never know her aunt.

December 13, 1979 – April 14, 2008

For those family and friends that are able to be in central Illinois this August 23rd there will be a memorial at 1pm at the Unitarian Church with a celebration of Shannon’s life to follow at my parents home at 3:30pm. For addresses or directions please contact me at threesneakybugs(at)yahoo(dot)com. Replace the at and dot as appropriate. Any photos or stories to share are also welcome. For those that would like to make a donation in Shannon’s memory I suggest one of the following organizations that played huge roles in Shannon’s life:

  • Spina Bifida Association of Illinois – 8765 W Higgins Rd #403, Chicago, IL 60631
    This group gave Shannon and my parents support, friendships and tools to navigate life with this disability.
  • Canine Companions for Independence – PO Box 446, Santa Rosa, CA 94502-0446
    Forever with her, this organization provided her with Ken, her magnificent helping dog.
  • Gift of Hope Illinois Coalition on Donation – 660 N Industrial Dr, Elmhurst, IL 60126
    This group was able to fulfill Shannon’s final wish of organ donation.

Actions

Information

10 responses

6 08 2008
Martha

Three beautiful photographs in honor of your sweet sister! I love the photo of her looking so proud standing in her braces with her walker! She was blessed to have you as a big sister.
I am making a donation in Shannon’s name to Canine Companions for Independence.

7 08 2008
Scott

So sorry to hear about the loss of your sister. I hope you all can find solace in knowing Shannon’s gift of life helped provide a second chance for others. We share some of these stories over on the “Illinois Donor Diaries” section of our site (http://donatelifeillinois.org/donatelife/donor-diaries.htm) if you’d like to check it out.

Best,

Scott
Donate Life Illinois – Campaign Manager
http://www.DonateLifeIllinois.org

7 08 2008
Life & Loss « I am. Are you?

[…] really put the “the circle of life” concept into perspective. There is this post about Shannon, who passed away in April and became a donor. The post details a sister’s reflection upon the […]

7 08 2008
Heather

Before even reading your post, I thought Shannon looked like Eleanor. (The swimsuit rocks.)

8 08 2008
Kristen

So nice to have your sisters memory be with you every day!

8 08 2008
smoothpebble

What lovely pictures. You all look so joyful in the swimming pool picture! And I agree with Kristen – how nice that your daughter reminds you of your sister.

9 08 2008
martha

I love that picture of the three of you. and she does look like shannon!
xo

9 08 2008
jen s

wow, eleanor does look like shannon in that picture. it’s very bittersweet. i’m so sorry for your loss, and my heart goes out to your family as well.

9 08 2008
Jenny

Anna, your sister was beautiful. Absolutely perfect.

I am so sorry for your pain.

20 08 2008
Neal

I hope your weekend is full of great memories with the service and all. Stories, memories, experiences, … they all are remembered and somehow make life better, hard as some of them are.

Leave a Reply

