Fun with Shaving Cream

4 09 2008

I recommend one can of shaving cream per summer for kids. It’s a ton of fun. I’ve seen shaving cream painting elsewhere, usually involving color and paper. I do plan on doing that version some day too but being the fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants mom that I am, we did a low key version. I thought it would be good just to explore the substance. Using shaving cream as paint and a kiddy pool as the canvas, I let the kids loose.

Well, there was some yelling and falling down. If you try this I recommend making sure everyone is fully versed on expectations first:

  1. It will be messy. And that’s ok. (Repeat this over and over. It needs to be your mantra.)
  2. If your kids aren’t fully self sufficient or little trouble makers, you will get messy too. I didn’t expect this, hence the yelling when I got sprayed.
  3. It’s a little like scooping the guts out of a pumpkin. At first it’s kind of gross & slimmy, but once you get into the sensory experience it’s a lot of fun.
  4. Shaving cream on plastic is slippery. Eleanor had a really hard time with this fact.
  5. It can get out of control quickly. It’s best if you are ready for that and just let it happen. Don’t fight it.
  6. Have the hose ready for rinsing off.

If you are really able to let go and embrace the messiness it’s a lot of fun. Next time I’ll just don my suit and go at it with them.

PS If you ever wonder how I have time to blog just check out the peeling paint on the garage, the weeds by the sandbox and the overgrown brown grass on the lawn. Priorities I tell ya.

Actions

Information

8 responses

4 09 2008
The Artful Parent

Awesome! We’ll have to try that sometime… And I’m with you on the peeling paint and the weeds.

-Jean

4 09 2008
Martha

You are way too much fun!!!
And i think you got had it scheduled just right having the shaving cream activity AFTER the playing in the onions!!! :)

5 09 2008
jenn

Remember the “shaving cream in the paper bag under the door” trick?

5 09 2008
painted fish studio

how fun! we never did that as kids. i’ll have to make up for that!

6 09 2008
Anna Y

Will have to try that one in the bath (lamenting lack of yard, and no balcony). Can see CT having fun with that too.

6 09 2008
Jenny @ a latte talk

You go, girl. Way fun.

6 09 2008
Kristen

hahaha I try to edit the photos where my house and yard looks like the true mess that they are , out of the final cut!! I love the weeds and peeling paint!! You do have your priorities in the right place.

8 09 2008
smoothpebble

I don’t think I could have resisted this it looks way too fun!

Leave a Reply

