Candy Cane Hearts

2 02 2009

We have an amazing pile of candy canes still left in our house. Steve bought a rather large box of the small size ones just after Christmas for a quarter. The expiration date is in 2010 so I suppose I could keep them for next Christmas but that seems wrong, expiration date or not. Both kids would eat them all day if it wasn’t for the fact that I keep them in the cupboard. Out of sight, out of mind as the saying goes. Anyway, I loved the idea of turning our Christmas treats into Valentines Day treats. It’s quite brilliant. I followed the extremely simple directions from Make and Takes. Either I should have adjusted the time because I used the small canes vs. the large or well, uh, I shouldn’t have accidently turned off the timer in the middles and had to guesstimate how much longer to bake them. Because, as you can see, they oozed a little in a few spots. But no matter, I still love how they turned out and was amazed at how easy they were to shape when I took them out of the oven.

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 02 2009
painted fish studio

what a great idea! and to think i tossed my candy canes the day after christmas…

2 02 2009
Martha

Sheesh! I tossed mine out too! I did have a fleeting thought as I threw them in the garbage that there must be something I could do with these…. Very creative and resourceful!!!

3 02 2009
christina

Well, I learned something today — candy canes have expiration dates?? I thought they were like twinkies, shelf stable for years…
That is a very good use for them, I must say, and they look perfectly valentine-ish. Actually, I avoid buying them because I don’t know what to do with them after christmas. Well, now I know!

3 02 2009
jenn

sweet…..

3 02 2009
martha

these are cool.
I can totally see steve buying candy canes in bulk discount:)

3 02 2009
Ayama

wow, next time i get given candy cane, I know what to do with it. ;) love those hearts. getting lots of inspiration for next friday’s craft activities. :D

Leave a Reply

