Family Valentines

18 02 2010

This last Saturday, the day before Valentines Day, the entire family took a class at the Minnesota Center for Book Arts. Originally, it was going to be just Seth and I, but then it evolved into a family event. I’m really happy it did, because we had a blast.

The instructor, Ellen Ferrari, was great at getting AND keeping the kids interest. Considering the age span of children from 2 to 5 or 6, this is quite a feat.  What’s more impressive is how she knew exactly how to explain the techniques so that everyone from Eleanor to Seth to Steve to little ol’ me could understand. She provided plenty of materials and even allowed us to take home what we didn’t use. This was especially nice as the adults, of course, didn’t get as much time to work on their own cards.

The playing card valentine at the top was made by Seth. He really enjoyed the uniqueness of each type of valentine and all of the different materials. This pocket valentine is by Eleanor. She learned how to use a bone folder! Silly me, I had never even thought to show her a bone folder even though I always know where mine is. She spent much of her time in the class coloring and glueing. This little master piece, however, was completed at home the next day. The folding had been done in class but it still needed embellishing. So while Seth and his father worked on breakfast, Eleanor and I hid in my bedroom finishing up our valentines. We spread all the materials we had brought home over the bed and just went to town. The best part was when the light bulb went off over Eleanor’s head and she figured out the scissors. After that I couldn’t stop her from cutting little bits of paper to glue in place.

To think, these are just a few of the valentines we made. There was a total of 4 per person worked on. And even though it was a class aimed at preschoolers I learned something too – how to make pop out hearts!

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 02 2010
Dana

Ellen is really good. Looks like a boatload of fun.

19 02 2010
smoothpebble

By the looks and the sound of it – everyone had a blast! I miss those days of discovery whent my kids were smaller, and seeing those light bulbs flashing above their heads.

19 02 2010
Mom and Kiddo

Oooh, I love book arts. The Brooklyn Library had a wonderful exhibit a few years ago. I wanted to spend an hour looking it over, but my kid was not so indulgent.

19 02 2010
jen

what a great class! a little something for everyone. bravo, mcba! (and bravo anna, for taking the family to something so great!)

20 02 2010
marie

How old is eleanor? I got my 2 1/2 yr. old daughter some scissors and she can hold them, but can’t use them yet. I’m wondering when it will click!

Leave a Reply

