Tools

2 03 2010

Seth’s been asking for a set of kid size real tools that he saw in a catalog. I’ve been putting the idea off for a while. However, one of the last few times my parents visited they brought up my old toolbox. I got it when I learned how to use the potty. I remember being VERY proud of it and used it throughout my childhood. Well, Seth’s persistence finally paid off and I pulled out the toolbox this last weekend. It’s dirty and several items are missing or broken but the kids were in awe.

Note the hammer held together with duct tape. She didn’t seem to mind.  Actually, neither of them seemed to mind what a sad state the tools were in. Eleanor was content just exploring the tools and lining up the nails in different patterns. Seth, on the other hand, wanted wood. And he wanted it right away. I hadn’t thought that far ahead. It was also a challenge to keep an eye on both kids at the same time, making sure no-one poked out an eye or chopped off a finger. So I made him wait until his father got home and then sent the two of them off to find a random piece of wood. Luckily he was then satisfied with a little lathing, sawing and nailing in the basement with his father. Meanwhile, I had to pull Eleanor away from the tools for her nap. Not an easy task.

I’ll admit it was a bit of a harrowing experience. These are real tools, with real sharp pieces. That awl, that you can barely see in her lap, is bent and deceptively sharp. The tools are now safely put away. However, before the inevitable request comes to pull them back out, I’d like to come up with a small project or two. The project may be as simple as cutting a 1x into little chunks with the saw and the miter box, but I want to be prepared. And I think we need to find some child size safety glasses.

Any project suggestions? So far I’ve come up with simply making blocks and a geoboard.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 03 2010
jen

eeks! well, you made it without cutting off an appendage or poking out an eye… i’m sure s & e will be ok, too!

5 03 2010
Grandma

They won’t be expecting to make any ‘thing’ to begin with. I’d say start with just a shape they can saw and sand. Dad really liked his sanding block with his name on it and coated with polyurethane. Then if they’re still inspired, two shapes that could be screwed together. Maybe something that they could use with an existing toy. Next add some paint (just your tempera). If they get ‘into’ any particular characters, you could create puppets. Maybe make up a new make believe character would be safer, then they wouldn’t be upset if it didn’t look like what they were expecting.
XOXO
btw, we found the pry bar that goes with the kit, too.

7 03 2010
Tina

You can also try Lowe’s. They have free kids’ workshops on Saturdays. You could also try their website to see what they’ve done or other recommendations. As long as they’re supervised, I’m sure you’ll be fine. Seth will able to join Cub Scouts before you know it and he’ll be able to make pinewood derby cars :) Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

