Peeling Hard Boiled Eggs

10 03 2010

Both kids are very interested in peeling hard boiled eggs right now. Seth is fairly efficient, his whole goal being to get to the cool egg slicer. Eleanor on the other hand, goes one teeny chip at a time. Freeing me up to do the rest of the breakfast. I’ll admit they only eat a bit of the egg in the end, but I’m happy they’re willing to try and I’m sure as time passes they’ll eat more.

Why the bowl of water in front of her? Long story. Steve & I were disagreeing on how long to leave the eggs in the water after bringing it to a boil and setting aside so I went off to find my cookbook that has my favorite method. Although the book was later found under my side of the bed, it was no where in sight at the time. So, back to the trusty internet while the water was coming to a boil. I found this site right away. A completely over the top, 6 page dissertation on how to boil and consequently peel an egg. It may be over the top, but at the same time it does have some good tips.  I always ran my eggs under running water while peeling and although this is perfectly acceptable, the site suggest returning the cracked egg to the bowl of water it was cooled in and letting it sit for 10 minutes. Eureka! Save water AND my kids can do this. Brilliant. This way both kids can peel at the same time and the water isn’t running for the 10+ minutes it takes Eleanor to peel an egg. Not to mention, she can’t yet reach the faucet even on the step stool.

This will totally come in handy after Easter when we’re overflowing with green, orange and pink eggs. Oh, and if you’re wondering, neither Steve nor I was right. Though Steve did come closest to the correct amount of time.

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 03 2010
jenn

I love hard-boiled eggs and I make them quite often. But I still need to open the Joy of Cooking to read how to do it. Every time. There must not be a spot in my brain to retain how to hard-boil an egg. Huh.

10 03 2010
Sarah

Place egg(s) in a pot with water from the tap to cover. Place pot on heat and bring to a boil. When water has reached the boiling point, remove pot from heat, cover and let stand for 10 minutes. Remove eggs, drain hot water, refill pot with cold water, put eggs back in the pot. When cool enough to handle, peel eggs and eat.

You knew I’d have something to say about this, right? I’m all about the eggs. And the ranunuculus… if I could find any.

10 03 2010
Mom and Kiddo

Here is my favorite part of this activity: “Freeing me up to do the rest of the breakfast”!!!

10 03 2010
Ayama

i throughly recommend watching your egg while boiling it. sounds like a dumb tip, no? well in younger days while teaching in outback oz, my kindergarten teacher flat mate managed to start a kitchen fire while boiling an egg. i am not joking. she started to boil the egg in MY best pot and then got distracted for SEVERAL hours. it’s interesting to see what happens to a pot that has sat on a hob for a few hours AFTER the water has boiled dry (not to mention the egg…). let’s say she banned herself from the kitchen after that and i cooked all the meals for nearly 2 years. she developed an appreciation spice, rice and asian cuisines. to her credit she established a fab kitchen garden and we dined like queens.

10 03 2010
marie

Try boiling your eggs with a couple slices of lemon in the water. I don’t know why, but it makes the eggs much easier to peel!

Leave a Reply

