Saying Goodbye

14 03 2010

No, not to you. It’s been a great winter, but I think I’m finally ready to let it go. To say good bye to winter and hello to spring. You know what that means, right? That it wills start to snow again of course. March is the snowiest month in Minnesota after all.

But first, a little look back at winter. A recap of sorts.

When it first started to snow back in October, I made a list. A list of all the winter activities I wanted to do this year:

  • Sledding
  • Build a fort
  • Ice Skating
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Build a snowman
  • Snowshoeing
  • Bake bread

I’m happy to report we made if through the list.  Some more than others – snowshoeing for instance. I think I went out 9 or 10 times! Some were questionable, such as the fort building. It was less than 2 feet high, but it’s width made up for it. The breads were only quick breads, but they count. Next year I want to get out cross country skiing more and also add something completely new to me. Maybe try my hand at something dangerous like down hill skiing or crazier still, snowboarding.

But for now, I’ll say good bye and welcome in the muddy brown season we call spring. Despite my resistance, the sunshine and warm temps wore me down today. I’m ready.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 03 2010
jen

i enjoyed our snowshoeing outings, but i am so ready to tell winter to take a hike! yay for spring! whoooooooo!

18 03 2010
kristin

these photos give me the chills…not just because of the snow, but at how lovely winter looks here! this is not my memory AT ALL of how this past season went. i love your list and that you were able to cross every one off…good for you anna! next winter i’d like to grab winter by the horns and enjoy it more.

it was wonderful to see you last weekend…i really miss time with you…let’s get a playdate on the calendar. xx

Leave a Reply

