NYC – Day 1

25 05 2010

Jen organized a fabulous 4 day trip to NYC this last weekend. I had been thinking for quite some time about taking a trip on my own. And by on my own I mean without my husband or children. A time to just be me – not wife, not mother, just me. So when Jen proposed this trip I leaped at it.  It sounded perfect – an exciting destination I’ve never been to and independence with a girlfriend safety net. It was just as fabulous as I had expected leaving me satisfied for now, but wanting more in the future. I’ll admit my feet aren’t so eager to go back, but I’m sure the blisters will heal before I can save up money for another trip. So, what did I do?

Took the light rail to airport where I got oatmeal from French Meadow and proceeded to spill it on my suitcase. But that’s ok, all was made better when Jenn provided each of us with a lovely wristlet she had made. (Boy has this woman taken to sewing! And just to be clear – Jenn is a different person than Jen.)

Isn’t it fantastic?!

The three of us were joined by by Lisa and Amy and the flight went smoothly. We took a taxi from the airport and met a dear friend, Rebecca, at the hotel in Manhattan where everyone but myself was staying. We then went out immediately for a drink at Lindy’s.

Afterwards, we went shopping for Japanese craft books at Kinokuniya. What fun! I will have to show you more another time. I do wish I had bought more. For myself and for gifts. I came in under budget on this trip after all.

We then walked FOREVER and ended up eating terribly expensive appetizers at BLT Fish. Good food, good service, but not a place I can truly afford. They did generously provide the recipe for their yummy Cheddar & Chive Biscuits though:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 3 tbsp shortening
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp chopped chives
  • 1 c sharp cheddar
  • 1 1/4 c cream

Preparation:

  1. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and cayenne.
  2. Cut the shortening and butter into the flour mix. Do NOT overwork.
  3. DO leave the butter and shortening in small pieces.
  4. Toss in the chives and cheese.
  5. Toss in cream, just until mixture comes together. Do NOT mix too much.
  6. Bake at 375 for 15-17 minutes
  7. Serve with sea-salt butter and maple syrup.

Makes 8 biscuits

Tired and happy, Rebecca showed me how to commute out to Astoria in Queens where I slept soundly.

Actions

Information

5 responses

25 05 2010
jen

yay for coming in under budget! now you’ve got a start for the next trip. and thank you for putting up the biscuit recipe – i was too busy buying wine to grab it! : ] it was definitely a good first day in nyc!

26 05 2010
Mom and Kiddo

I hope you went across the street from Kinokuniya to use “the best restroom in NYC”! :)

26 05 2010
jenv

sounds like fun! i will definitely be making those biscuits and saving for next years trip.

26 05 2010
cindy

great job staying under budget and i love your views of nyc! glad you took some books home, too!

26 05 2010
Dana

Can’t get past the jealousy over going to Kinokuniya. Can’t wait to hear about Day 2.

Leave a Reply

