Power Ranger!

1 11 2010

I believe I’ve just sewn more in the past week than I have in the past 5 years. Some of it was good. Really good. Some was bad. We’re talking cut fingers, burnt hands, snipping tape measurers in half and cursing.

It all started several weeks ago at a rummage sale. The kids and I had gotten a $3 bag and had stuffed it full of goodies. On the way out Seth happened upon a never before used Power Ranger sewing pattern. And not just any Power Ranger, it was the red ranger, his favorite.  He looked at me with those eyes and asked me to sew it for him for Halloween. I literally couldn’t say no. It cost us nothing to tuck it into our bag and I secretly spent the next few weeks hoping he’d change his mind.

Well, at a week before Halloween, he hadn’t changed his mind. In fact, he was more resolved then ever. So I set to work. I’m pretty sure whoever purchased this pattern back in 1994 took one look at the instructions and decided not to proceed. There are 8 pieces in all to this puppy and the directions are rather poorly written. I nixed several of the finishing directions like hemming and adding bias tape edges, but it still took days.

If you ever want to create a sewing pattern and drive people nuts, just have them switching out 3 different colors of thread every 5 minutes.  Seriously, I’ve never change the thread on my machine so many times. But the directions were written in such a way that I was never sure what they were getting at until almost the end of a piece and therefore, never sure what areas I could skip around to economize on thread changes.

In the end, all was well. Seth was happy. I was proud that I pulled it off. Most of the materials were found in my stash. In fact, it only ended up costing me $6 in total. I’m also fairly sure that Seth will use pieces of the costume in dress up for a while. Not the whole costume, but pieces. Like the mask or the cuffs. With the ordeal behind me, I’ll say that it was worth it. Though had you asked me mid-project, I would have had a different answer.

I’ll leave you with a sneak peak at Eleanor’s costume from trick-or-treating last night. It was a joy to make and deserves a post all it’s own.

Actions

Information

9 responses

1 11 2010
jess

That looks amazing!!! Great job!

1 11 2010
Mom and Kiddo

You are a superstar. I can’t believe someone has the patience to make that! I am seriously impressed.

1 11 2010
molly:: applecyder

wow. oh wow. i can see why you got tired of sewing this one. but it is so incredibly awesome and perfect, so i do hope it was really worth it. i think it was!

1 11 2010
jenn

nicely done… looks like LOTS of work.

1 11 2010
painted fish studio

you are a good momma! looking forward to e’s costume.

1 11 2010
Grandma

WOW/ fantastic/ that’s some outfit. I don’t see how you could top this next year. So I’m thinking this year between Eleanor and Seth, is the cream of the crop for Halloween outfits for the Tracy children. Good job

1 11 2010
christina

Oh yeah, that looks fab!! And you can just see that he loves it.

2 11 2010
julia

holy crap that does look like a pain in the butt to sew! but it also looks AMAZING!! and look how happy is!! you’re a good mom for putting up with this!

10 11 2010
UK lass in US

Wow! Yep, that’s the kind of complicated costume that I try to steer my kids away from… It looks wonderful, though – as does the princess costume!

Leave a Reply

