Valentine Beanbags!

14 02 2011

Raise your hand if you know I tend to go overboard at Valentine’s Day.

Ah, I see more than half of you with your hands up. As you may have guessed, this year was certainly no exception. We’ll see how much time I can find this week to show you all of our projects.

First up, I made a pile of bean bags out of left over felt from Seth’s halloween costume, an old grey t-shirt and a large bag of rice. I had everything on hand except the rice, which I found on sale – bonus! I would have preferred to have found some old sweaters to felt down or some lovely new wool felt to use, but time and money were not on my side so I made do.

Eleanor helped fill them with the rice. She and her brother also helped sweep up the rice after one rather large spill that happened when my back was turned. I just kept repeating in my head – practical life lesson, it’s ok, breath, practical life lesson….

In this pile, you can see one with the tag hand sewn on. It was the only one that had a tag by the time the sun was going down yesterday.  I purposefully sewed the hearts a little wonky twice around, but I’ll admit by the time I was on my 22nd one they were REALLY wonky.  I somehow doubt the 3 to 5 year olds will care though.

I suggested to Eleanor that she might want to write an E on the back of each card, but she would have none of it. She wanted to trace her full name on each and every card. The crazy part is she did it! Half last night and the rest this morning. We were a little late for school, but I wasn’t going to stop that concentration and persistence.  Even last year Seth didn’t make it through signing all his valentine’s and his name is so much shorter than hers. It was very unexpected. She even added a little sticker to each one.

I hope each and every one of you have a wonderful Valentine’s Day! Find someone to hug and slowly enjoy a good chocolate treat.

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 02 2011
molly:: applecyder

CUTE!

14 02 2011
cindy

i love the bean bags and eleanor’s determination! happy love day! xo, c

14 07 2011
Peaceshanti

I know it’s long past St Valentines day, but I only just saw these by accident, and gotta say they are gorgeous – time consuming, but gorgeous!

Had a thought – If you had more time, you could leave the appliqued hearts a little un-sewn on the top to make tiny pockets…then you could slip in a little candy or choc treat (home made of course! ;- p ) with a couple of little hand stitches to prevent them falling out…(maybe not if you have to do 44 of them!)

as a varation for another season, you could do the same with stars or snowflakes for Christmas, egg or bunny shapes for easter, or a tulip shape for Mother’s day…(lavender is a nice filling for that one)

Really nice idea though, and one the wee bairns can really help out with…thanks!

Leave a Reply

