Gifts

24 02 2011

We mostly just give handmade valentine cards within the family, but this year I went a little further. I really like the fact that we keep it simple, creating cards with just what we have on hand. Still, I had the urge to do a little more this year, but I tried hard not to go overboard.

For Seth – An etched seashell. Making the valentine shells reminded me of a project in Laurie Carlson’s More Than Moccasins. You paint an image on a shell with clear nail polish, then place in a bowl of vinegar for a day. I think it would be nice to reverse the surface that is etched and paint all of the shell except the heart. A note of warning should you be tempted to try this project, not all shells are created equal. White or lightly colored shells do not work because it’s difficult to see the difference between the etched surface and the protected one. Additionally, thinner shells may disintegrate completely. This happened to me twice which is why I ended up with a different gift for Eleanor. I simply didn’t have another 24 hours to risk on another shell.

For Eleanor – A felt heart necklace inspired by new house project’s necklace I spyed on The Crafty Crow. I had been cutting out and collecting small red hearts from scraps left by the bean bag project. I was thinking if it came together Eleanor could wear it to school on the big day. Well, I didn’t finish it until about 1/2 hour before the end of her school day but it did solve the problem that I didn’t have a 2nd etched shell to give out.

For me, from Kristin – isn’t she awesome?! I simply love this little pin and was really touched when she gave it to me.

This concludes the crafty valentines day summary. I promise to keep hearts on the down low for the next 11 months.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

