You’re Invited!

9 06 2011

Roses are red, Violets are blue
Eleanor’s turning 4 & wants to celebrate with you!

Well, not really. The party happened a few weeks ago. Sorry about that. However, there’s so much goodness to show you I’m going to have to break it down into several posts. Otherwise you’ll think I just self published a book!

First up, the invitations. We keep our birthday parties small here. This allows for a manageable party and higher quality invites, party favors and the like. I can also make sure everyone’s having a good time and focus on the birthday child. Therefore, Eleanor was able to invite 4 friends. She wanted a flower and butterfly party. To me that equated into a garden party but she would correct me on a daily basis – “you mean it’s a flower and butterfly party, don’t you?” Uh, yeah.

I choose packets of seeds that I felt went well with Eleanor – pink, organic, even the company name seemed appropriate. All of the pertinent party details were printed on pink paper along with a summary of the planting instructions that I covered up when I pasted the paper to the back of the seed packets. To include Eleanor in the process I pulled out some stickers my mom had given us through another project (that I can’t believe I haven’t shown you). I gave instructions to place a butterfly on every invite and a flower on every envelope. Controlling, aren’t I?

As a bonus we made up these plant markers to stick on the thank you bags. We made them from some pussy willow branches we had trimmed from our back yard. I found the idea on Martha Stewart and they couldn’t be easier to make up. I was wary of taking my good kitchen peeler to sticks, but the wood was fairly soft so it all worked out fine.

Actions

Information

5 responses

9 06 2011
manneredgold

{sigh} Love it already. Get those follow-up posts fired up. Taking notes for Lilah’s next birthday…

9 06 2011
christina

Oh Happy belated Birthday, E!
I’m keen to see what else you had planned too. K turns 5 at the end of July and has been inviting her entire preschool class to a party for months now. No backing out this year…

9 06 2011
Kathryn

Awesome ideas!!

9 06 2011
Mom and Kiddo

Lovely! I remember seeing those marker twigs in MSL and thinking “I love them. I should save this page!” But then realized, “who am I kidding, I am never going to do this.” I’m glad I get to make them vicariously through you.

9 06 2011
jen

looks fun!

Leave a Reply

