Birthday Outfit

16 06 2011

Call me crazy. It’s ok, I can take it. Really I can. It’s because I know it to be true.

I literally made this outfit the morning before Eleanor’s birthday party. I know! I can hardly believe it myself.

The t-shirt was purchased a few weeks beforehand with a birthday shirt in mind, but as usual I didn’t get around to it. I had pretty much given up the idea when I found myself ahead of schedule on the day of the party. Well, not really ahead of schedule, but all required projects were completed and I had moved on to the wish list of other projects I wanted to do but weren’t really necessary.

If my parents hadn’t been there helping out I know for certain it wouldn’t have happened. But as it was, my mom had just finished up the garland and I was feeling a little jealous that she got to sew something. So using some of the left over fabric and some fusible interfacing I had on hand, I set to work. Steve helped out by drawing the 4 and the circles. The shapes were simply sewn on with a zigzag stitch. The quality isn’t that of an heirloom but it will certainly work for the summer and has lasted through several washings already.

As for the skirt, I made it from an old t-shirt and some even older 3/4″ elastic. I cut the bottom of the t-shirt off to the length of the skirt plus an inch. Then I used spray starch to help stabilize and ironed a fold to make the casing. I’m proud to say I remembered to sew on the applique circles prior to adding the elastic. However, please don’t magnify the pictures or you’ll see all my wonky stitching. It’s my 1st applique after all.

I can assure you I breathed a sigh of relief when Eleanor decided she was willing to wear it. Often it takes her weeks to warm up to the items I make her, but it was only minutes this time. Phew. She added knee highs to the outfit and was quite pleased that there were 4 circles to match her age.

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 06 2011
Cousin Kathy :}

You are not crazy, you are amazing!! …and that Eleanor loved it, what a bonus….and as usual looking ridiculously adorable!

16 06 2011
christina

Aw, she looks so sweet. Good job, mama!

16 06 2011
jen

hey, crazy! looks great! i can’t believe e is 4… wow.

17 06 2011
jess

Adorable in all ways. You, her, the outfit, all so good!

17 06 2011
manneredgold

Let’s be honest – you could put that girl in a paper bag with arm holes and she’d come out looking like a perfect cutie 10. Your outfit ramped her up to a 23, easily.

I’ve decided that in order to be completely unintimitdated by your shirt-gone-skirt, applique wonderment, I might try something bold, take a first step, and actually take my sewing machine out of the closet (dum-dum-DUM!) (that sounds more forboding in my head).

Awesome and sweet as always.

Leave a Reply

